Revit Name Automation for Consistent Naming Conventions
Learn how to activate your license, manage connected devices, and upgrade between Lite and Pro versions.
Rename Pro uses a device-based licensing model to ensure compliant usage. Each license is bound to:
You can manage all activation settings, view license statuses, and configure privacy options directly inside the add-in via the About dialog, when launching Rename Pro in through Revit Add-Ins tab.
To activate your copy of Rename Pro, follow these steps:
The Lite version gives you full access to all standard naming convention rules, duplicate indication, and parameter configurations. However, it does not include the ability to export or load your naming configurations. This means settings must be manually configured on each local machine. If you reinstall Windows, you will lose all your settings and will need to configure them again. You can use same license key on only one device at the time.
The Pro version includes everything in Lite, plus the crucial ability to Export and Load Settings to JSON. This allows you to export your configured rules to external files so you can easily deploy, share, and enforce standardized naming conventions across your entire team or company. You will also be able to backup your settings and restore them after reinstalling Windows. You will also be able to use same liecnse key on up to 3 devices at the time.
Each license allows a maximum number of concurrent active devices. In the About dialog, the Devices row displays your usage in the format Used / Allowed (for example, 1/1 means one device is registered under a license key that only allows one device).
If your device count exceeds the allowed limit:
Rename Pro licenses are bound to specific Revit versions. In the About dialog, the Revit Versions dropdown lists all Revit versions assigned to your key (e.g., 2026 - Assigned).
If you attempt to run the add-in on a Revit version not assigned to your license key, the software will display a warning and run in a restricted state until the version is assigned or upgraded.
If you need to add more device slots, assign new Revit versions, or upgrade from the Lite version to the Full version:
If you need to transfer Rename Pro to a different computer or free up an active slot on the activation server:
2/1), open Rename Pro on one of your other active devices and click the Log Out button to release the slot.